More of “More Hits by The Supremes”

Rejoice, Supremes fans! Hip-o Select today announced the release of the next expanded album package by Motown’s most famous girl group, a double-disc edition of More Hits by The Supremes with tons of exciting bonus content.

By 1965, the years of the “no-hit” Supremes at Motown Records were history. The previous year had seen three consecutive No. 1 hits – “Where Did Our Love Go,” “Baby Love” and “Come See About Me” – and another two consecutive chart-toppers would be added to the list with “Stop! In the Name of Love” and “Back in My Arms Again.” In the summer of 1965, after the release of the Top 20 hit “Nothing But Heartaches,” Motown assembled a record featuring those last three singles, their B-sides and another six album tracks, all penned by the Holland-Dozier-Holland hitmaking team and produced by Brian Holland and Lamont Dozier.

That album is the centerpiece of Select’s new expanded edition, presented in both the original mono and stereo mixes on one disc. As an extra-special bonus, the first disc rounds out with the group’s rare radio commercials for Coca-Cola and an alternate take of The Supremes’ interview with Motown’s Booker Bradshaw (the original take was released on a promotional single in 1965).

The bonus disc brings together Supremes treasures in the studio, on stage and even abroad. Three tracks from a gig at Detroit’s Fox Theatre begin the disc, followed by a set of unused songs and alternate takes of The Supremes’ biggest hits of ’65. (Some of the tracks, familiar to longtime collectors from previous box sets and compilations, are making their debut in stereo.) The bonus disc closes out with the fascinating pair of singles released by Motown in Germany, featuring German-language versions of “Where Did Our Love Go” and “Come See About Me” with unique B-sides (all heard on the fascinating Motown Around the World set) and, elsewhere in Europe, five live tracks recorded in Paris for a Motortown Revue compilation.

All in all, this new title is sure to be a neat way to keep on celebrating the group’s 50th anniversary. Check out the order link and track list after the jump.

The Supremes, More Hits by The Supremes: Expanded Edition (Hip-o Select/Motown B0016210-02, 2011)

Disc 1: Original Mono and Stereo LPs and bonus material

  1. Ask Any Girl
  2. Nothing But Heartaches
  3. Mother Dear
  4. Stop! In the Name of Love
  5. Honey Boy
  6. Back in My Arms Again
  7. Whisper You Love Me Boy
  8. The Only Time I’m Happy
  9. He Holds His Own
  10. Who Could Ever Doubt My Love
  11. (I’m So Glad) Heartaches Don’t Last Always
  12. I’m in Love Again
  13. Ask Any Girl
  14. Nothing But Heartaches
  15. Mother Dear
  16. Stop! In the Name of Love
  17. Honey Boy
  18. Back in My Arms Again
  19. Whisper You Love Me Boy
  20. The Only Time I’m Happy
  21. He Holds His Own
  22. Who Could Ever Doubt My Love
  23. (I’m So Glad) Heartaches Don’t Last Always
  24. I’m in Love Again
  25. Coca-Cola Commercials (Stereo)
  26. Supremes Interview (Alternate)

Disc 2: More…

  1. Baby Love (Live At The Fox)
  2. Where Did Our Love Go (Live At The Fox)
  3. Come See About Me (Live At The Fox)
  4. Come Into My Palace
  5. Ooowee Baby
  6. Surfer Boy
  7. Beach Ball
  8. Stop! In the Name of Love (Version 1)
  9. Take Me Where You Go (Version 1 Without Strings)
  10. Back in My Arms Again (Alternate Vocal)
  11. Too Hurt to Cry, Too in Love to Say Goodbye
  12. Whisper You Love Me Boy (Alternate Vocal)
  13. Nothing But Heartaches (Alternate Vocal)
  14. It’s All Your Fault (Version 2)
  15. Mother Dear (Version 2)
  16. Too Much a Little Too Soon
  17. He Holds His Own (Alternate Vocal)
  18. Moonlight and Kisses
  19. Baby, Baby, wo ist unsere liebe
  20. Thank You Darling
  21. Jonny und Joe
  22. Stop! In the Name of Love (Live in Paris)
  23. Baby Love (Live in Paris)
  24. Somewhere (Live in Paris)
  25. You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You (Live in Paris)
  26. Shake (Live in Paris)

Disc 1, Tracks 1-12 released as Motown LP M-627, 1965
Disc 1, Tracks 13-24 released as Motown LP S-627, 1965
Disc 1, Tracks 25 and Disc 2, Tracks 5-7 originally released on Diana Ross and The Supremes 25th Anniversary (Motown 5381-ML3, 1986)
Disc 2, Tracks 1 and 3 originally released on The Supremes box set (Motown 012 159 075-2, 2000)
Disc 2, Tracks 4 and 11 originally released on The Never-Before-Released Masters (Motown MCD-09075MD, 1987)
Disc 2, Tracks 18-19 released as CBS single 1719 (Germany), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 20-21 released as CBS single 1839 (Germany), 1965
Disc 2, Tracks 22-24 released on Motortown Revue in Paris (Tamla T-264, 1965)


  1. Supreme Lover says

    For those of us who already have almost everything Supremes, we notice that HIp O is claiming all of Disc 2 is unreleased, but this is untrue especially when mentioning the live recordings at the Fox. I especially recall Come See About Me being released in 2000 on the THe Supremes Box SEt.

  2. says

    Hopefully this release will help see “Surfer Boy” enshrined as one of the true all-time Supremes classics…it really deserves wider exposure, if only for the great bass drum work in the first five seconds.

  3. Jimmy says

    I’ll be one of the first to get this one.Especially for “It’s all your fault” My all-time favorite Supremes track

  4. Ed Williams says

    Wow! I have everything Supremes released so this seems like a lot of nothing that has all been previously released! Seems like there is nothing left in the vaults. However I will buy it to add to my collection. Too bad Motown couldn’t concentrate on releasing The Supremes Tv specials like TCB or Git

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *