The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Silversun Pickups to Release “Singles Collection” on CD, Vinyl Box

with one comment

Silversun PickupsIf you’ll pardon the lyrical callback, Silversun Pickups fans have been waiting for this moment all their lives: the release of the band’s first greatest hits collection in February.

Hailing from the Silverlake region of Los Angeles, the Silversun Pickups have one of the more unusual mainstream rock backgrounds of the past decade, thanks to the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences nominating them for a Grammy Award for Best New Artist in 2009 – even though their first album, Carnavas (2006), was a moderate success with two Top 10 singles (“Lazy Eye” and “Well Thought Out Twinkles“) on Billboard‘s alternative rock chart. The exposure probably didn’t hurt, though: the band’s other two full-length albums have been Top 10 sellers, and the band’s aesthetic – distorted, Smashing Pumpkins-esque guitars and soft-to-loud vocals by lead singer Brian Aubert – have earned them a dedicated fan base.

The Singles Collection finds the band collating 10 of their previous singles from all three of their studio albums (and one from the 2005 EP Pikul) with one newly-recorded track, “Cannibal.” A deluxe box set version of the compilation features all 11 songs on six 7″ vinyl discs, with a second bonus track, “Devil’s Cup,” recorded during the sessions for the band’s 2009 album Swoon.

You can get either the CD or vinyl sets in stores on February 25. Full tracks and Amazon links are after the jump as available; fan bundles are also available on the band’s official website.

The Singles Collection (Dangerbird Records, 2014)

Amazon U.S.: CD / 6 x 7″ box
Amazon U.K.: CD (TBD) / 6 x 7″ box

  1. Kissing Families
  2. Lazy Eye
  3. Well Thought Out Twinkles
  4. Little Lover’s So Polite
  5. Panic Switch
  6. Substitution
  7. The Royal We
  8. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
  9. The Pit
  10. Dots and Dashes (Enough Already)
  11. Cannibal
  12. Devil’s Cup

Track 1 from Pikul EP (Dangerbird, 2005)
Tracks 2-4 from Carnavas (Dangerbird, 2006)
Tracks 5-7 from Swoon (Dangerbird, 2009)
Tracks 8-10 from Neck of the Woods (Dangerbird, 2012)
Track 11 is a new track
Track 12 is a previously unreleased track from the sessions to Swoon. Exclusive to vinyl box set.

About these ads

Written by Mike Duquette

January 22, 2014 at 12:34

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not only is it way too early in their career for a compilation like this, but it’s pretty crappy on their part to leave one of the unreleased tracks exclusive to a $44 vinyl-only box set.


    January 22, 2014 at 13:57

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,118 other followers

%d bloggers like this: